Pineapple and Pork Fried Rice

     Sometimes one of my new recipes makes me want to shout from a mountain top how delicious it is.  A week or so ago I created Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp and the family went crazy over it.  Last night I did something new with Pork Chops and they we SOOOO good!  I had 3 left over because we also served BBQ Ribs and the kids went for the Ribs instead of the Pork Chops.  So, I put my leftover Asian Pork Chops in the fridge and thought all night about what to do with the leftovers.  Bob bought 2 pineapples last week for $1.00 each.  I cut them up and froze them in individual packages.  I also had some leftover Rice in the fridge.  Unfortunately for me, someone got into the leftover Pork Chops and I only had 1 ½ Chops left.  You might want to double the recipe if you’re feeding a family.

     As I began to cook, my mind started doing its thing, and I had to start taking notes because I wanted kind of a Sweet, Spicy result.  Then once I started cooking, I added additional ingredients.  The end result is plenty spicy with just ½ tsp Sriracha Sauce. Our newest Westover Leftover!

Here’s what I came up with:    

INGREDIENTS:

2 cup cooked long grain rice

3 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled

¼ cup Celery, chopped

1 large Scallion, chopped

1 large clove Garlic, chopped

2 TBSP Olive Oil

2 TBSP Low Sodium Soy Sauce

1 tsp Hoisin

 1 ½ tsp Rice Vinegar

1/8 tsp Ginger Powder Or 3/4 tsp fresh grated Ginger

½ tsp Sriracha Chili Sauce

1 TBSP Sake

1 tsp dried Cilantro Leaves or use fresh is you have it

½ cup +/- Leftover Pork, cubed

2-3 TBSP fresh Pineapple

OPTIONAL:  Mushrooms, Carrots, Peas, Asparagus, Broccoli

     In a large skillet, fry bacon until crisp, crumble and set aside.  Pour off grease, leaving 1 TBSP behind in the pan.

     In the reserved Bacon Grease, sauté Celery, and Scallions for 2 minutes over low heat.  Add Garlic and sauté 1 minute more.  Add Olive Oil, Soy, Hoisin, Rice Vinegar, Ginger Powder, Chili Sauce, and Sake to the Veggies.   Stir over low heat just until everything is well combined.

     Add the Rice and give it a few minutes to crisp up a little.  You may want to turn the heat up.

     Add Cilantro, Pork, and Bacon.  Saute until heated through.  Add Pineapple, stir and serve.

Please remember to Like and Share our Posts. Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great original recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

TWITTER  https://twitter.com/ChewWannaEat

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2020

This is a double batch!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.