Peach Crisp Pie

IMG_4851

Sum sum summertime, sum sum summertime . . . and the peaches are ripe for the pickin’!
OK, I picked nuffin. I sent Bob to the store. Now that I’m done telling fibs, let me tell you how I created this knock your socks off Fresh Peach Pie with my Apple Crisp topping. Firstly, I didn’t want a top crust, nor did I want a crumble topping, or even a streusel topping. But . . . I wanted something with texture and a bit of cinnamon flavor. So, it stands to reason that I would use my Apple Crisp topping. I also didn’t want to be mixing my beautiful peaches with flour as a thickener, I didn’t want to chance a gummy or pasty filling. So I used the Grandma standard ingredient – Tapioca. I baked mine in a Quiche/Tart pan, but a deep dish pan will work just as well.

 

INGREDIENTS:
1 unbaked deep dish pie crust
FILLING INGREDIENTS:
8 cups fresh ripe peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced
¾ cup sugar (half brown and half white)
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
4 TBSP quick-cooking (Minute) Tapioca

 

TOPPING INGREDIENTS:
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
¼ cup wheat flour
¼ cup white flour
¼ cup cold butter, chopped
2 Dashes of salt

PREPARATION:
Line a deep dish pie plate with crust and refrigerate.
In a large bowl, mix peaches and sugars. Taste it. If the peaches are good and ripe, all is well. If the peaches are a little under-ripe, add a bit more sugar. Add cinnamon, salt, vanilla, and Tapioca. Stir to blend. Pour into the pie crust.
TOPPING: In the same bowl, use a pastry blender or two butter knives to chop topping ingredients until butter is in small pieces and mixture is crumbled (Pea-sized). Sprinkle over peaches. Put a baking sheet or foil under pie before baking, just in case.
Bake at 400° F for 20 minutes. Turn oven down to 350° F and bake for approximately 35 additional minutes or until topping is browned and filling is bubbly. Remove from oven and let cool completely.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information! You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2017

IMG_4831

IMG_4846

IMG_4855

IMG_4851

 

Leave a Reply

