SNICKERDOODLE CHEESECAKE

 

 

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake (5)

   My daughter-in-law was teasing me with photos and a recipe for Snickerdoodle Cheesecake.  I’ve seen them around before, but I might have been in one of my moods for cinnamon.  And Bob is always in the mood for cheesecake. 

     By now, you must know that I’ve never met a recipe I couldn’t alter.  It’s just my thing, and I can’t help myself.  I added an extra half tsp of vanilla and more cinnamon.  Since most of us have a stand-up mixer with only one bowl, I made a note after the cheesecake portion of the recipe so you can use the same bowl twice.  Oh yeah, one other thing.  I rarely use unsalted butter and then add salt to the recipe.  I think that’s silly.  Each stick of salted butter has approximately ¼ tsp of salt.  If a recipe calls for 2 sticks of unsalted butter and 1 tsp salt, I use 2 sticks of salted butter and ½ tsp salt.  I also added baking soda and salt to main snickerdoodle mixture, and then added flour slowly.  (Saves washing another bowl.)

By the way?  This cake is OUTSTANDING!

Ingredients

Cheesecake

  • 2 blocks cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (I used 1 tsp)
  • pinch of kosher salt

Snickerdoodle

  • 2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt (I cut this to 1/2 tsp because I used salted butter)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, melted (I used room temp salted)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon (or more)
  • cinnamon sugar, for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350º. Grease (I used butter) a 9″-x-13″ baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. Prepare cheesecake mixture: In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, vanilla, and salt and beat until combined. Note: If you have only one mixer bowl, transfer cheesecake mixture to a small bowl and set aside. You’ll have to rinse and dry bowl and beater.
  3. Prepare snickerdoodle dough: In mixer bowl, beat butter, sugar and brown sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until just combined. Add baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Slowly add flour and mix on low until just combined.
  4. Press about two-thirds of the snickerdoodle dough into an even layer in the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar on top. Pour cheesecake batter on top and smooth the top with a rubber spatula. Break up remaining snickerdoodle dough into small clumps and sprinkle over cheesecake layer. (I found it easy to use a serving spoon and scrape pieces right onto the cheesecake with a butter knife. Sprinkle with more cinnamon sugar.
  5. Bake until edges are set and center of cheesecake mixture is only slightly jiggly, 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool completely until slicing into squares.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/ 

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT 

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com 

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2017

Snickerdoodles Cheeecake

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake (2)

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake (3)

IMG_4265

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake (5)

Leave a Reply

