GLAZED BACON MEATLOAF

   img_3456

  I love my meatloaf.  I love it with mashed potatoes, I love it with baked potatoes, I love it with French fries, I love it smothered in gravy, and I love it when it has bacon in it.  I especially love my glaze.  OK, I think you’ve got it now.  I love my meatloaf.  A meatloaf sandwich on toast with melted cheese?  YUM!  I could eat it every day. 

     Tonight, we’re having it with baked potatoes.  I put two potatoes in the oven at 400 ° F while I prepared the meatloaf.  Once I put the meatloaf in, I turned the oven down to 350 ° F. 

INGREDIENTS:

6 slices bacon, cooked crisp

1 ½ lbs ground meat (I use 1 lb beef and ½ lb pork)

¼ – 1/3 cup chopped onion

1 clove garlic

1 or 2 mini sweet peppers, chopped

1/3 cup dry red wine

1 beef bouillon cube

1/3 cup quick cook oatmeal

1/3 – ½ cup milk

½ + cup bread crumbs

1 egg

1 TBSP Worcestershire

1 TBSP prepared brown mustard

1/3 cup ketchup

Pepper

 

GLAZE INGREDIENTS:

4 TBSP ketchup

4 TBSP brown sugar

1 rounded TBSP brown mustard

 

MEATLOAF PREPARATION:

Cook bacon and set aside.  When cool, crumble.

Pour the wine in a small bowl.  Add the bouillon and heat for 30 seconds in your microwave.  Mash the bouillon with a fork.  Add oatmeal, milk, bread crumbs, Worcestershire, ketchup, mustard, egg, and pepper.  Whip with a fork until blended.  Set aside.

Mix ground meat with onion, garlic, and sweet pepper.  Add the small bowl of liquid and thoroughly mix.  Shape into a loaf and bake at 350 ° F.  Remove from oven and add glaze.  Return to oven and bake another 15 – 20 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 160 ° F

 

GLAZE PREPARATION:

Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and pour over meatloaf about 15-20 minutes before meat is fully cooked.  Let some of it run over the sides.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/ 

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT 

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com 

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2017 

img_3456

img_3446img_3445

img_3450img_3453img_3456img_3459

One thought on “GLAZED BACON MEATLOAF

Leave a Reply

