NO-BAKE COOKIES, FOOLPROOF

  no-bakes-4 Twice recently, it came to my attention that people are having issues with these cookies.  That’s just not right!  They are so delicious that they need to be the best they can be.  As a young girl I was introduced to these cookies at school bake sales and I was in love.  I had no idea what they were or how to make them.  They sold for 25 cents apiece.  

     When I was around 20, I lucked out and had a friend that had the recipe.  She shared.  (Still love her!)   I altered the technique, of course, ‘cause that’s just what I do.  I also increased the oatmeal a bit because it  gives me  a firmer, taller cookie instead of a pancake.  

     Here is how I do it, including all my secrets in making these delightful fudgy, peanutbuttery, oatmeal laden deliciousness.  Feel free to 1 ½ or double the recipe.

INGREDIENTS:   YIELDS ABOUT 25 COOKIES

2 cups sugar

1 stick butter

4 TBSP Hershey’s cocoa

½ cup milk

2 cups + 2 TBSP quick-cook oatmeal

½ cup peanut butter

Salt (about ½ tsp)

2 tsp vanilla extract

PREPARATION: 

Place oatmeal and peanut butter in a large bowl and set aside.  You’ll thank me later. * 

Mix sugar, butter, cocoa and milk in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a rolling boil, stirring constantly over low heat.  Let it boil for ONE MINUTE ONLY, and don’t stir at this stage.

Remove from heat and add oatmeal and peanut butter.  Stir well.  Add the vanilla.

Let mixture sit for about 5 minutes, and then try dropping one cookie on waxed paper.  If it spreads too much, stir again, and let the mixture sit another 5 minutes.  Test another cookie.  When you get the thickness you want, drop all the cookies on the waxed paper.  I always turn the spoon as the cookie is dropping off, and that will give you a nice round cookie.

After 30 minutes to 60 minutes, the cookies will be set up nicely.  I turn them all upside down to give the bottoms a chance to “cure”.

   BIG HINT:  Make sure to leave a big amount of mixture in the pan so you can sit down with your wooden spoon and clean it up.  It’s best to do this in a darkened room while hiding in your closet or under your bed.

NOTE:   *If you didn’t premeasure the oatmeal and peanut butter, the mixture is rapidly cooling down while you’re doing it.  You need the high temp so the oatmeal will cook sufficiently.

I spent about an hour researching these cookies today.  I see that many recipes call for up to 3 ½ cups of oatmeal.  If you’re having an issue, possibly that’s why.  I’ve never used that much and think you’d end up with too much oatmeal and too chewy of a cookie.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

Allrecipes   http://dish.allrecipes.com/blogs/chewwannaeat/

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2016

img_1878

no-bakes

no-bakes-2

no-bakes-3

no-bakes-4

no-bakes

no-bakes-5

no-bakes-2

no-bakes-4

 

 

Leave a Reply

