ZUCCHINI BREAD, BEST

Zucchini bread

     It’s zucchini season, and if you garden you have zucchini coming out of your ears.  Right?  Never fear, Chew Wanna Eat to the rescue with a recipe for bread (or muffins) that is so moist and delicious, even naysayers will love it.  I’ll never forget that years ago I gave a slice of zucchini bread to a nephew who was about five at the time.  He promised me that he hated zucchini bread.  I never told him what the bread was, I just gave it to him.  After he scarfed it down he asked for a second slice while exclaiming, “Wow!  That was the best banana bread I ever had.”  Call it what you want kid, just eat it.  lol 

     I’ve had this recipe for so many years that I don’t remember if its mine or if I got it out of cookbook.  All I know is that it is the only one I use and the bread is perfect every time.  It freezes wonderfully, which is an added benefit.  Eat one loaf today and freeze another one for later.  When I have a bunch of zucchini ready from the garden I’ll often use my Ninja  and prepare a lot of the squash at once, which I freeze in pre-measured freezer bags for winter baking.  So handy to have when you want to bake during the cold winter months.

    

INGREDIENTS:   YIELD:  2 loaves 

3 eggs

2 ¼ cups sugar

1 cup canola oil

3 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 cups grated squash

3 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 tsp cinnamon

 

PREPARATION:

Wash the zucchini and cut the ends off.  Using a food processor blend until it’s the consistency of applesauce.  Set aside.

In mixer bowl, beat eggs, sugar, and canola oil for 2 minutes at medium speed.  Add vanilla, soda, salt and squash.  Beat until well blended.  Add flour and mix until combined and batter is smooth.

Pour into two prepared loaf pans and bake at 335° F for a good hour.  Check for doneness with toothpick.  If toothpick is clean and dry, the bread is done.

NOTES:

Muffins will take about 35 minutes, and I always overfill the cups.

Mini loaves will take about 45 minutes.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

Allrecipes   http://dish.allrecipes.com/blogs/chewwannaeat/

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2016

Zucchini bread

Zucchini bread (2)

 

Leave a Reply

