BROWNIE BARK, EASY

Brownie Bark (7)

     Brownie bark is awesome.  And I’ll warn you . . . it’s addictive.  Crisp, chocolaty, and you can add various ingredients to customize it to your liking.  If you’ve been following my blog you may remember that I’ve been working on my own recipe.  What I made in the past was good, but not perfect.  Now I think it is perfect so I’m sharing the recipe.  Give it a try because you will be pleasantly surprised as to how easy and how delicious it is.  If you buy bark, crackle, brittle, or any of a multitude of names it goes by, it’s very expensive.  Making your own is just a great idea. If you bake at all, I’m sure you have most if not all of the ingredients on hand now.

      The secret to my crispy bark is what I don’t put in it.  See if you can figure it out, and let me know in a comment.   I’ve seen a lot of recipes out there, but they all seem to be too thick.  I didn’t want a brownie, I wanted bark.  If you like bark, give this a try.

INGREDIENTS: 

2 egg whites

½ cup granulated sugar

2 TBSP brown sugar

3 TBSP canola oil

1 TBSP butter, room temp

¾ tsp vanilla extract

2 dashes salt

¼ tsp baking soda

1 TBSP dry milk powder

2 ½ TBSP Cocoa powder

½ cup + 1 TBSP flour

 

PREPARATION:

In mixer bowl, beat egg whites for three to four minutes on high speed until foamy.  Add sugars, oil, butter, and vanilla, beating well.

Preheat oven to 325°F now.

Add salt, baking soda, dry milk powder, cocoa powder, and flour.  Mix just until everything is incorporated.  Don’t over beat.  Add whatever extras you want and stir in.  Lay a silicone sheet on the largest baking pan you have (I use my half-sheet).  Give it a quick spray.  Pour on batter and smooth with an offset spatula.

Bake for about 20 minutes and remove from oven.  Cut a pretty pattern, or just hack it up in irregular shapes, and return to oven for 5 – 7 minutes.  Remove from oven.  You’ll want to remove the outside pieces to a cooling rack first.  You may notice that the interior pieces are a teensy bit thicker and need to crisp up a bit more.  If so, return pan to oven and let bake for another few minutes.

OPTIONAL: 

Milk chocolate chips

Semi-Sweet chocolate chips

White chocolate chips

Pecans

Coconut

Walnuts

Dates

Raisins

Toffee bits

M & Ms

Butterfinger bits

Crushed peppermint candy

Butterscotch chips

Peanut butter chips

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes, home hacks, gardening, and health information!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

Allrecipes   http://dish.allrecipes.com/blogs/chewwannaeat/

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2016

Brownie Bark

Brownie Bark (2)

Brownie Bark (3)

Brownie Bark (4)

IMG_1470

Brownie Bark (6)

Brownie Bark (5)

2 thoughts on “BROWNIE BARK, EASY

    1. Hi Agatha Chocolats. I want to let you know that if you want a deeper darker chocolate, add a little more cocoa powder. I’m going to try that next time. I love dark chocolate, so I think more cocoa powder will be perfect. Let me know how you like it, please 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

