CINNAMON STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE

COFFEE CAKE (6)

     Well, the cinnamon bug got me again.  For a week, I’ve been craving it.  I was going to make apple crisp.  I was SO going to make apple crisp, I had Bob buy the apples.  They’re still sitting on the counter.  Last night I changed my mind and decided to make apple pie.  Yep, apple pie sounded delicious.  This morning I got up and changed my mind again.  I haven’t made my coffee cake in ages and it’s a lot easier than pie, so there you have it.  The outside edges get just a smidge crispy, like the edges of cornbread.  Oh yes, I wanted it badly! 

     My coffee cake has been a staple in my kitchen since my boys were little, and you know they’re both grown now with little ones of their own.  It was one of Cory’s favorite cakes.  If he wants some, he has a four hour drive, so I’m sure he’ll pass. 

     The cake is a quick, throw together operation with a tiny little extra step of making the cinnamon swirl part.  The really good news is that once you pour the thick luscious batter into the baking dish, you can use the same bowl to mix the cinnamon mixture.  Ohhhhhhhh, I want a piece right now.  So does Bob.  He came out her commenting on how good it smelled and that he’d have to “suffer” with a cookie because the cake wasn’t out of the oven yet.  Today I’m making a glaze to drizzle over the top.  I usually don’t do it, but today I want it all!!! 

INGREDIENTS: for an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan.  (Feel free to double.  You can make one to give away or make mini coffee cakes in a cupcake tin.)  NOTE:  If doubling, don’t forget to double the streusel.

¼ cup Crisco

¾ cup sugar

1 TBSP sour cream or 1 TBSP soft butter

1 egg

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp vanilla

¾ cup milk

1 ½ cup flour

 

STREUSEL PREPARATION:

In a medium bowl, mix with a pastry cutter or two forks, or two knives:

1/3 cup brown sugar

¼ cup flour

½ tsp cinnamon

3 TBSP room temperature butter

You want to see small lumps in it.  Don’t mix until it’s smooth, or you’ll ruin it.

 

CAKE PREPARATION:

In mixer bowl, beat Crisco and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add sour cream or butter, egg, baking powder, vanilla and mix well.  Alternately add milk and flour, mixing until combined.  Pour the batter into a prepared baking dish, add the cinnamon mixture, swirl it and get your fork ready.

BAKE at 375° F for 25 – 30 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.

 

GLAZE INGREDIENTS:

This is something I’ve eyeballed for years.  The measurements are approximate, but between testing to see if it’s drippy enough and dragging your finger through it for a little taste, it won’t be a problem.

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 TBSP butter

½ tsp vanilla

¼ tsp almond extract

Small dash salt

2 TBSP warm half and half or milk

 

GLAZE PREPARATION:

In mixer bowl, combine sugar, butter, vanilla and almond extracts along with a quick dash of salt.  On low speed, begin adding the half and half until you have a nice drippy glaze.  Then beat on medium speed for a minute.  Using a large spoon, drizzle this on the cake while the cake is still a little warm, just don’t put it on a hot cake.

NOW . . . How easy was that???  Yep.  Pretty easy for all this delicious, moist, cinnamon goodness.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2016

COFFEE CAKE (2)

COFFEE CAKE (3)

COFFEE CAKE STREUSEL

COFFEE CAKE (4)

COFFEE CAKE (5)

COFFEE CAKE (7)

COFFEE CAKE (6)

COFFEE CAKE

Leave a Reply

