BROWNIE CAKES WITH GANACHE AND MINT

2016-03-17 20.24.48_crop

Good thing I’m cute, cause I can’t draw. I’ve said it before, and now here’s proof. It looks like a child decorated these, but I cannot lie. It was me. UGH! They are delicious though. I made them with my own brownie recipe, ganache, and some squiggly minty decorations. I can hear you laughing!!  

Diets or no diets, I’ve been craving something chocolate all week.  I finally broke down and baked my brownies in honor of St. Patrick’s Day.  Today, I made ganache and my mint filling/frosting, and did my best to decorate.  This recipe will make a 9 x 13 pan of brownies, or do what I did.  I made 8 brownie cupcakes and put the rest of the batter in a bread (loaf) pan.

     My brownie recipe is quick and easy, and awesomely fudgy and chewy.  And guess what?  One pan and a whisk on top of the stove.   No mixer, no beaters, no fuss, no muss.  (OK, I confess that I made a little mess, but I always do.  It’s to be expected).

 

INGREDIENTS:

4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate

1 ¾ sticks butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 ½ tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 cup AP flour

Nuts (optional)

 

PREPARATION:

In a 3 quart saucepan, add the butter, chocolate and sugar over low heat, stirring with a whisk. Cook and whisk periodically, until you see tiny bubbles beginning to form.

Remove from heat and add the vanilla and baking powder.  Then you can either temper the eggs or just let the mixture cool for about fifteen minutes.

Add the eggs, and whip well.  Add the flour and whisk only until the flour is mixed in.  If you want nuts, add them now.  Simple?  Yep!

Pour into a prepared 13” x 9” pan.  Bake at 350° F for 30 – 32 minutes.  For cupcakes bake 20 minutes, and 35 minutes for the loaf pan.  Don’t over bake, or you’ll lose your moist fudginess.  Brownies continue cooking even after you take them out of the oven. Cool completely before removing from pans.

GANACHE INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup butter

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 tsp light corn syrup

½ tsp vanilla

GANACHE PREPARATION:

Microwave butter and chocolate at one minute intervals, stirring until smooth.  Stir in corn syrup and vanilla.  Pour over cooled cakes and chill until firm.  If it’s too thick to pour or drizzle, add a bit more corn syrup.

MINT FROSTING INGREDIENTS:

4 TBSP butter, at room temp

2 cups confectioner’s sugar

2 TBSP half and half or milk

4 drops green food coloring

4 drops DoTerra spearmint essential oil or 1 ½ tsp spearmint extract

MINT FROSTING PREPARATION:

Beat all ingredients until smooth and spreadable.  Scoop into a pastry bag which has been fitted with the tip of your choice, and pipe your design.

Please remember to Like our Posts and Follow Chew Wanna Eat? for more great recipes!    You won’t be sorry.

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2016

Leave a Reply

