ORANGE PECAN COFFEE CAKE

     We have new neighbors. For three days I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of something nice to bake for them. What if they don’t like pineapple upside down cake? What if they hate cheesecake? Danish?  Maybe not.  Ugh! I was struggling. Bob suggested my coffee cake. I’ve been using just one recipe forever. It just didn’t seem good enough to give them. So, I took a perfectly good coffee cake and made it even better! I made a small one for us and a larger one for them which I baked in a tube pan.

A spectacular coffee cake with a cinnamon/pecan streusel (I added dates).  The crumb is so light and moist, and wait until you see how fluffy the batter is.

CAKE INGREDIENTS: For 8” x 8” or 9” x 9”

Feel free to double and make two separate cakes or a 13” x 9”

¼ cup Crisco

¾ cup sugar

1 TBSP room temperature butter

1 egg

2 ½ tsp baking powder

2 dashes salt

½ tsp vanilla

½ tsp orange extract

¾ cup measure, half filled with orange juice and ½ filled with milk

1 ½ cup flour

2 tsp orange zest

PREPARATION:

Cream Crisco, sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  Add 1 egg, baking powder, salt, vanilla, and orange extract.  Beat well.  Add flour and beat one minute.  Add orange zest.  Pour into prepared pan and bake at 375° F  for 25 – 35 minutes, depending on size of pan.  Use toothpick test for doneness.

 

STREUSEL: For 8” x 8” or 9” x 9”  (Double if doubling cake batter)

1/3 cup light brown sugar

¼ cup flour

½ tsp cinnamon

3 TBSP room temp butter

1/3 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

1/3 cup chopped dates

PREPARATION:

In small bowl, mix sugar, flour, cinnamon and butter with pastry blender until crumbly.  Stir in nuts and dates.  Sprinkle on top of batter and swirl through.

NOTES:  You know me and dates, I love them.  With the orange, cinnamon, and pecan flavors?  Holy moly!  I always have them in the freezer because I love adding them to cakes and cookies.  Another great addition to this cake would be Craisins.  I think I’d omit the dates if I was doing an orange cranberry cake.

The cake will separate from the sides of the pan a little bit when it’s finished to perfection.  The edges get barely crispy and delicious!

 

Please remember to follow us for more great recipes!

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/chew-wanna-eat-main-board/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2015

Leave a Reply

