CREAMY RICE PUDDING

RICE PUDDING_crop

  Look at that thick custard!  I’ve eaten rice pudding about twice in my entire life.  I think I made it once.  Tonight I had to have it, don’t ask me why.  I’m so happy that I listened to my inner cravings.  I love it!  It’s 2:23 A.M. and I’m having a little more.  Just a little, really. 

      I had half a can of condensed sweetened milk leftover from who knows what that I made this week.  I was trying to decide what to do with it, and this was perfect.  You can eat it warm or cold.  Either way is delish!  I can attest to this because I’ve had it both ways today.  Ugh.

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup cooked rice, cooled to room temp.

7 oz sweetened condensed milk (1/2 can)

1 ¾ cups milk

3 large eggs

1/3 – ½ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup raisins (or more if you like)

1 ½ tsp vanilla

2 dashes salt

½ tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

 

PREPARATION:

Lightly butter a 1 or 1 ½ quart baking dish

In a large bowl, whisk eggs with sugars, condensed milk, milk, vanilla, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Add cooled rice and raisins.  Stir.

Pour into prepared dish.  In a large baking dish, put the casserole dish inside it, and pour an inch of water around the casserole (In the large baking dish only.  *

Bake at uncovered at 350° F 45 – 60 minutes until browned around the edges and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  (The depth of the baking dish will make a difference in the amount of baking time needed).  Cool for ten minutes, cut and serve.

*Water bath: The best custards (crème brulee, and cheesecakes) are always baked in a water bath.  The cradle of water prevents curdling and cracking by insulating from the high oven heat.  It also encourages your custard to cook in the center, as well as the edges.  It’s so simple, and can prevent a world of hurt.

We love Likes!  Please remember to follow us for more great recipes!

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/chew-wanna-eat-main-board/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2015

Rice Pudding

Rice Pudding (2)

Rice Pudding (3)

Rice Pudding (4)

Leave a Reply

