LASAGNA, SLOW COOKER, By Tika

Crock Pot lasagna (3)

CROCK POT LASAGNA, BY TIKA

     Lasagna in a crock pot is nothing new, I know, but it was new to me.  I’ve never made it before.  I kept asking myself, “How good can it be?”  I was just as sure as I could be that it would be crappy.  I was SO wrong.  It was knock your socks off good! 

      As a recipe creator, it is impossible for me to follow someone else’s recipe.  I just can’t do it.  If you ever met anyone who has to completely redo a simple four ingredient recipe that would be me.  I’m not sure if it’s a blessing or a curse. 

 All that being said, here is how I made my crock pot, slow cooker lasagna my way. 

  1. I used my homemade sauce.  Click the link for the recipe. https://wordpress.com/post/chewwannaeat.wordpress.com/1124)
  2. I made four layers instead of three because I like it thick.
  3. I used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese
  4. I started out assembling while my sauce was still quite hot and it took less than 4 hours.

 

INGREDIENTS:

I used a little over a quart of sauce

One package of lasagna noodles, uncooked (you won’t use them all)

One 15 oz container Ricotta cheese

One cup water

One egg

Romano, Parmesan and Mozzarella cheeses

Garlic powder

Parsley

 

PREPARATION:

Put the Ricotta in a small bowl.  Add one egg, about ½ tsp garlic powder, and mix it well with a spoon.  Set aside.

Give your crock pot a quick spray. I mixed the water with the sauce before I did anything else. Then, ladle enough sauce in the crock to cover the bottom. Lay a single layer of noodles on next. You’ll have to break the noodles to get them to fit.  Put some freshly grated Romano, Parmesan and grated Mozzarella between each layer.  Then dot the Ricotta next.  On top of that, a few ladles of sauce.  Continue until you have three or four layers.  Four was perfect for us.  It was nice and thick.

Once the noodles are soft, this is done.  Mine took less than four hours.  About five minutes before serving, put more Mozzarella on the top and sprinkle with some Parsley for color.  Put the lid back on and set the table.  It’s time for dinner.

One of the greatest things about this was that when I cut the first hunk out and plated it, it stood straight and tall.  It didn’t fall over.  Nice!  There’s nothing worse than wimpy  limpy lasagna.

Crock pot Lasagna

Crock pot lasagna (2)

Please remember to follow us for more great recipes!

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/chew-wanna-eat-main-board/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2015

Leave a Reply

