EASY FUDGY BROWNIES, By Tika

BROWNIES (3)

Today I wanted something chocolaty and fudgy.  I needed brownies.  However, that was the only thing I knew for sure.  I couldn’t decide how to decorate them.  I kinda wanted chocolate frosting, I kinda wanted peppermint, but Bob doesn’t like peppermint.  So I compromised.  Ha Ha.

This is an absolute awesome fudgy, chewy, chocolate mouthful of goodness.  And guess what?  One pan, and a whisk on top of the stove.  No mixer, no beaters, no fuss, no muss.

INGREDIENTS:

4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate

1 ¾ sticks butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 ½ tsp vanilla

1 cup AP flour

Nuts (optional)

You all know I’m not so neat when I cook, so, I use a 3 quart saucepan to make these.  As it is, I had eggs dripping down the burner, green frosting on the stove, cocoa powder, and confectioner’s sugar all over the counter.  Oh well.  It will clean.  And, it sure is worth it.  I had a piece of the peppermint section and it was spectacular.

PREPARATION:

In a 3 quart saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate over low heat, stirring with a whisk. Add the sugar and whisk until you see tiny bubbles beginning to form.

Remove from heat and add the vanilla.  Then you can either temper the eggs or just let the mixture cool for about fifteen minutes.

Add the eggs, and whip them well so they incorporate.  Add the flour and whisk only until the flour is mixed in.  If you want nuts, add them now.  Simple?  Yep!

Pour into a prepared 13” x 9” pan.  Bake at 350° F for 30 – 32 minutes.  Don’t over bake, or you’ll lose your moist fudginess.  Brownies continue cooking even after you take them out of the oven. Cool completely if you want to frost them.

For the frosting, I made a batch of frosting, and then scooped 1/3 into a ramekin, added 3 drops of red food coloring and frosted 1/3 of the brownies.  I put one candy cane in a baggy and whacked it to death with a wooden spoon.  For the green, I added 3 drops of green food coloring to another 1/3. The chocolate frosting is actually peanut butter chocolate.  I added about ¼ cup of peanut butter to the remaining frosting which was still in the mixer bowl.  I put about 2 or 3 TBSP of butter, ½ tsp vanilla, about 4 TBSP milk, and about 4 TBSP of cocoa powder, and about ¾ cup confectioner’s sugar.  I have no recipe for my chocolate peanut butter frosting, so I am forced to do frequent taste tests.  Suffer, woman.  What a chore.

Brownies_cropBrownies (4)

Please remember to follow us for more great recipes!

PINTEREST    https://www.pinterest.com/gailwestover/chew-wanna-eat-main-board/

FACEBOOK  https://www.facebook.com/CHEWWANNAEAT

WORDPRESS   https://chewwannaeat.wordpress.com

By Tika for CHEW WANNA EAT? © 2015

Leave a Reply

